

Third Annual National Racial Justice Awards Dinner

United Church of Christ Commission for Racial Justice

December 6, 1993

Hon. Richard Arrington, Jr. Ms. Anne Braden Dr. Kenyon Burke Dr. Benjamin Chavis, Jr. Hon. William Clay Hon. Eva Clayton Hon. Cardiss Collins Hon. James Clyburn Hon. Ronald Dellums Hon. David Dinkins Dr. Marian Wright Edelman Dr. Edwin Edmonds Hon. Don Edwards Hon. Cleo Fields Hon. Floyd Flake Vice President Albert Gore Dr. Vincent Harding Hon. Alcee Hastings Dr. Norman Hill Rev. Jesse Jackson Hon. Maynard Jackson Mr. John Jacobs Hon. William Jefferson Hon. Sharon Pratt Kelly Hon. John Lewis Dr. Joseph Lowery Hon. Wilma Mankiller Hon. Hilda Mason Hon. Carrie Meek Hon. Cynthia McKinney Hon. Kweisi Mfume Dr. Lewis Myers Hon. Eleanor Holmes Norton Hon. Charles Rangel Dr. Randall Robinson Hon. Kurt Schmoke Dr. Paul Sherry Dr. Franklin Smith Hon. Louis Stokes Hon. Walter Tucker, III Dr. Larry Wallace Dr. Ronald Walters Hon. Melvin Watt Dr. Alan Wheat Hon. Michael White Hon. John Wilson Hon. Albert Wynn

National Dinner Committee

National Coordinator Della Owens Washington Office Director Toni Killings Interim Executive Director Rev. Leon White The Honorable Wilma P. Mankiller Principal Chief Cherokee Nation P.O. Box 458 Tahlequah, OK 74465

Dear Chief Mankiller:

On behalf of the Commission for Racial Justice of the United Church of Christ, we express to you our profound gratitude for your continued support as a member of the National Dinner Committee for the Third Annual National Racial Justice Awards Dinner. We are pleased to report that the Dinner was very successful.

As planned, we honored three recipients who have made outstanding contributions to the national and international struggle for racial justice. Our honored program participants very capably addressed the theme "Civil Rights: Mine Eyes Have Seen..." Supporters from across the nation gathered in Washington, D.C. to attend the Awards Dinner, held on October 22, 1993 at the Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill.

The National Racial Justice Awards were presented to Kenyon C. Burke and Charlayne Hunter-Gault. The Charles Earl Cobb National Racial Justice Medal was presented to Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis, Jr.

We regret that you were unable to attend, and enclosed please find a copy of the Souvenir Booklet.

Sincerely,

Bernice Powell Jackson Executive Director

BPJ/dmo Enclosure