





**OFFICERS** 

April 27, 1994

LaDonna Harris

Comanche Founder and President

**Eddie Tullis** 

Poarch Creek Vice President

Dear Program Advisors:

Elma Patterson

Tuscarora Secretary

Mary Jo Butterfield Makah

Treasurer

BOARD MEMBERS

Edgar Bowen

Michael Chapman Menominee

Phyllis Old Dog Cross Mandan-Hidatsa

> Andrew Ebona Tlingit

> > Coy G. Eklund

Jeanne Givens Coeur D'Alene

Valorie Johnson Seneca

Minerva Jenkins Mohave

> Louis LaRose Winnebago/Ute

A. David Lester Creek

Charles Lohah Osage

Grace McCullah Navajo

Jerry Muskrat Cherokee

Faith Roessel Navaio

Joe S. Sando Jemez Pueblo

681 Juniper Hill Road Bernalillo, NM 87004 (505) 867-0278 Fax: (505) 867-0441

I am pleased to send you the attached report on the First Gathering of the 1994 Class of American Indian Ambassadors which was held in February at the Makah Reservation in Neah Bay, Washington. The people of the Makah Tribe were terrific hosts. Americans for Indian Opportunity is especially grateful to Mary Jo Butterfield (Makah) who serves on the AIO Board and is an Ambassadors Program Advisor. Mary Jo assisted AIO in making the arrangements for the First Gathering.

Also attached is the agenda for the next Ambassadors Gathering to be held in Washington, D.C. May 16-22, 1994. We are fortunate to have many Program Advisors join us in Washington and several have agreed to formally address the group. As you can see from the agenda, a very exciting and intense week is planned. The group will have the opportunity to meet with members of the President's Cabinet and Members of the U.S. Congress.

Also next month in Washington, D.C., the AIO International Advisors will meet for the first time. We are fortunate to have so many talented and creative leaders join us for this important meeting. There are several new International Advisors so I have included a new list.

Please let me know if you have questions or suggestions for the Program. We will continue to keep you up-to-date on our activities.

Warmest regards,

Laura Harris

**Projects Directors**