SKETCH OF THE TRIBE

The Sioux constitute the largest tribe in the United States) and are too well known to need an extended description here. Although now thought of chiefly as a prairie tribe, their emergence upon the plains is comparatively recent, and within the historic period their range extended as far eastward as central Wisconsin, from which, and most of Minnesota, they have been driven out by the westward advance of the Ojibwa. There is ground for believing that the true home of the whole Siouan stock is not in the west, or even in the central region, but along the south Atlantic slope. (See the author's Siouan Tribes of the

The Sioux language has three well-marked dialects—the eastern or Santee, the middle or Yankton (including the Asiniboin in the north), and the western or Teton. The tribe consists of seven great divisions, each of which again has or had subdivisions. Dorsey enumerates over one hundred in all. Each grand division had its own camping circle, and when two or more such divisions camped together they usually camped in concentric circles. (Dorsey.) The seven great divisions are: 1. Mde-wakañ-toñwañ (Medewacanton), "village of the Spirit lake;" 2. Waqpekute (Wahpacoota), "leaf shooters;" 3. Waqpetoñwañ (Wahpeton), "leaf village;" 4. Sisitoñwañ (Sisseton), variously rendered "slimy village" or "swamp village;" 5. Ihanktoñwañ (Yankton), "end village;" 6. Ihanktoñwañna (Yanktonais), "upper end village;" 7. Titoñwañ (Teton), "prairie village."

The first four divisions collectively are known as Isañati or Santee Sioux. The name is supposed to be derived from $isa\bar{n}$, the dialectic They formerly held Mississippi, Minnesota, and word for "knife." upper Red rivers in Minnesota and were afterward gathered on reservations at Devils lake, North Dakota; Lake Traverse (Sisseton agency) and Flandreau, South Dakota; and Santee agency, Nebraska. Those at Lake Traverse and Flandreau have now taken allotments as citizens.

The Yankton and Yanktonais, together speaking the middle dialect, occupied chiefly the country of James river, east of the Missouri, in North Dakota and South Dakota and extending into Iowa. They are now on Yankton and Crow Creek reservations in South Dakota, and Fort Peck reservation, Montana.

The Teton constitute more than two thirds of the whole Sioux tribe, and held nearly the whole country southwest of the Missouri from Cannonball river to the South Platte, extending westward beyond the They are all now on reservations in South and North Black hills. Dakota. They are again subdivided into seven principal divisions: 1. Sichangu, "burnt thighs" (Brulés), now on Rosebud reservation; 2. Ogalala, referring to "scattering" of dust in the face (Clark), now on Pine Ridge reservation, under the celebrated chief Red Cloud (Maqpe-Luta); 3. Hunkpapa, "those who camp at the end (or opening)

BC8.